Truro Tennis

Tennis in Truro, Nova Scotia is a cooperation between two non-profit organizations:

During the outdoor season (usually May through October), tennis in Truro, Nova Scotia mostly happens at 12 Palmer Street, at the entrance to Victoria Park. Here the Truro Tennis Club operates and maintains 6 hard courts (4 lit with new LED lights) and a clubhouse. It runs programs and events for all ages and levels of play.

The clubhouse is staffed from sometime in May to the end of August.

Mon – Fri 9:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Sat – Sun 10:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Non-members are welcome to drop-in and try tennis anytime or sign up for one of our “Try Tennis” nights. Those who play regularly at the club will benefit from a membership.

Truro Tennis Club does not run day camps or offer tennis lessons. Cougar Dome makes use of the club facilities during the outdoor season to run lessons and other programs.

For more information, visit

Cougar Dome operates year round, running camps and tennis lessons at Cougar Dome throughout most of the year and making use of Truro Tennis Club for lessons during the summer months. The Cougar Dome facility is often used as a backup location for summer events that would otherwise be cancelled due to bad weather.

We are located in Truro at 72 North Street, next to Colchester Legion Stadium and Cobequid Education Centre. Here Cougar Dome operates a multi-sport facility with six full-size tennis courts (though two are only available for special events and covered by turf the rest of the time).

Cougar Dome tennnis coaches are all fully certified by the TPA ( Tennis Professional Association). Among those, the coaching staff include a Tennis Canada Coach 2 and Club Professional 2 and three Club Professional 1. These coaches run professional tennis lessons every week for beginners, recreational players, and competitive; from 3 years old to 93 years old. Cougar Dome has been recognized by Tennis Canada as a Tennis Development Centre since 2016 and is the first Tennis Étude program in Atlantic Canada, producing some of the top young talent in the region.

Cougar Dome allows free access to over 21,000 students within the Chignecto Central Regional School Board, allowing all young students equal opportunity to practice tennis as well as other sports on the turf.

All tennis lessons in Truro, no matter the time of year, are offered through the Cougar Dome.

For any Cougar Dome inquiries regarding lessons, events, camps, memberships, and so on, feel free to visit our website at